July Can Jam ~ Cucurbits (Old-Fashioned Dill Pickles)

Okay, so I had fairly grand plans for this month’s Jam.  I was going to experiment with zucchini.  Or make an exotic pickled cucumber.  But, time got away from me and lo and behold today is the deadline!!!  And, I don’t have time now; there will be time for zucchini and exotic pickles later.  For now, I stuck with an old standby.  I didn’t even have time to take pictures yet; but I will and will add them later.  See, I promised pictures so you shall have pictures!  However, with T-minus-one-and-a-half hours, I just need to get the post up before my deadline (and my bedtime) and not mess around with this antique desktop trying to get pictures uploaded.  (Yes, the laptop is still out of commission.)

Without further adieu:

Classic Dill Pickles

Dill Pickles

Kosher Dill Pickles
4 lbs. (4″) pickling cucumbers (from both my 9 Bean Rows CSA share and Olds Farm)
6 tbsp. pickling salt
3 c. distilled white vinegar (I always use 4 cups each of water and vinegar since the year I ran short on brine; plus three and three yields a really salty dill.)
3 c. water
fresh dill (from my herb butterfly garden)
21 peppercorns
14 garlic cloves from Olds Farm

  • Clean and sterilize jars and lids; add to water bath and bring to a boil. 
  • Wash cucumbers and cut to desired pickle shape; I did a variety of spears and slices.
  • Combine salt, vinegar and water; heat to boiling.
  • Pack cucumbers into clean, hot jars.  Add three peppercorns, two garlic cloves and a sprig of fresh dill to each jar.  (I need to remember to add way more dill next time.  I didn’t buy any when I was at the Farmers’ Market and had to make do with the dill that grew in my yard.) 
  • Fill packed jars with hot brine to within 1/2″ of jar top and seal.
  • Process in prepared boiling water bath for 1o minutes.  (The book says fifteen but it makes the pickles mushy; read the footnote.)*

This made 8 pints with enough brine leftover for me to make a jar of “refrigerator pickles” which I didn’t process.

You can add more seasoning to make a spicier dill, but if I spice them too much, my kids won’t eat them.  I’ll make another batch for myself later. :)

*This recipe is from “Freezing and Canning Cookbook: Prized Recipes from the Farms of America” by the food editors of Farm Journal (1964).  I got this book at an estate sale about 15 years ago.  While some safety guidelines have changed over the years, I use this book as a reference and source of inspiration for lots  of canning recipes; I love it.  When I get around to adding the pictures, I’ll add a photo of the book too.  I know.  Boring.  Traditional.  DELICIOUS!

Freezing and Canning Cookbook: Prized Recipes from the Farms of America

Cool, huh? Don't you just want to run out and make a gelatin mold?

Oh, and Tigress, thanks again for getting me back to my blog!

1 Comment

Filed under canning

One response to “July Can Jam ~ Cucurbits (Old-Fashioned Dill Pickles)

  1. Farm Journal Cookbooks are great…..I own several…..the recipes in them are always terrific. I am always on the prowl for them at garage and estate sales

Leave a Reply

