Pinot Noir Grape Jam

The four dresses I made for my sister and her "girls".

Pardon the angle; Gwen was the photographer.

Even though school started seven weeks ago, I’ve still been working my “summer job” selling croissants and produce for Nic and Jen Welty of 9 Bean Rows at the Farmers’ Market.  Between school, my sisters’ wedding (and sewing four bridesmaid’s dresses for said wedding), and Saturday mornings at the Market, I haven’t had much spare time for cooking, cleaning, canning or blogging. 

This afternoon when I got home from the Market I was supposed to go to a baby shower.  Or so I thought.  Once I arrived at the hostess’ house and found no cars in the drive I realized that the shower is actually tomorrow.  Graced with unplanned free time, I decided to clean out the refrigerator.  I pulled all the produce out of the drawers and made a ratatouille and a vegetable stock, started a crock of fermented dill beans and found some grapes from my CSA that I’d almost forgotten about. 

Dill Beans

Lacto-fermenting dill beans. (Ok, but not a huge success.)

 

My CSA share from 9 Bean Rows always has surprises in it: fall strawberries, whole chickens, unsprayed apples and even grapes.  I’m ashamed to admit how long these “found” grapes have been in the refrigerator. 

Picked through Pinot Noir grapes

One pound of wine-y goodness.

 The Pinot Noir grapes had to be picked through and I think I fed more to the chickens than I kept for the jam but I still had a pound. 

CSA grapes

Concord? grapes from my CSA

The other grapes are of an unknown variety, but I think they may be Concords.  They haven’t been waiting as long as the Pinot grapes and didn’t require any picking other than stem removal.

I decided a grape jam was in order so I present:

From the folks at Blackstar

My favorite local Pinot.

Arcturos Pinot Noir Jelly

  • 1 lb. each Pinot Noir grapes and Concord? Grapes (Wild grapes would probably work too.)
  • 1/4 cup Pinot Noir
  • 1 cup sugar

Wash and stem grapes.  Skin Concord? grapes reserving the skins. 

Squeezing the grapes over a bowl is a quick way to remove the skins.  This reminded me of those old-school “haunted houses” from my youth.  There was always a bowl of  “eyeballs” for us to reach into that was actually filled with peeled grapes.

Once the grapes have been skinned, combine grape skins, Pinot Noir and sugar in a non-reactive pan.  Bring to a boil to dissolve sugar and reduce heat.

In a separate  non-reactive pan, combine the Pinot grapes and Concord? grape eyeballs.  Bring the grapes to a boil, reduce heat and simmer 10 minutes. After ten minutes, transfer the grapes to a food mill to remove seeds and the skins of the Pinot Grapes.  Add the milled grape pulp to the pan containing the skins, sugar and wine and return to a low boil until the jellying point is reached.

Pinot Jelly

Arcturos Pinot Noir Grape Jam

Ladle hot jam into sterile jars.  Leave 1/4″ headspace and process in a boiling ater bath for ten minutes. 

Yields about 2 cups

2 Comments

Filed under canning, food

2 responses to “Pinot Noir Grape Jam

  1. Patrick Small

    What about the seeds in the pinot grapes…easy way to get them out?

  2. Pingback: 2013~ A Year in Review | Notes From a Country Girl Living in the City

Leave a Reply

