#99 ~ Clean out My Closet Every 6 Months; Donate Clothing to Goodwill

I didn’t plan on cleaning my closet out today.  This project occurred out of necessity.  As a Christmas bonus, Mr. Hippie got laid-off indefiinitely. So while the kids and I returned to school today, Mr. Hippie stayed home.  He did dishes.  And laundry.  Lots of laundry.  He did so much laundry that when I got home from work we were out of hangers (and somehow, we still have three loads of wash waiting in the wings). 

So, I decided it was time to purge the closet.  Since Mr. Hippie was home, he purged his half three-quarters of the closet too.  I went through the dresser and the under-bed storage for good measure and when we finished we had this:

Clothes from the closet.

It doesn’t look like much, but this pile of clothes filled a 13-gallon trash bag.  When we finished the laundry we started on the kitchen cupboard.  That wasn’t on the list but this bag of pots/pans and storage containers found a new home at Goodwill:

Dishes, pans and storage containers purged.

 And, now my cupboard looks like this:

Cleaned out cupboard.

 


6 Comments

Filed under 101 in 1001

6 responses to “#99 ~ Clean out My Closet Every 6 Months; Donate Clothing to Goodwill

  1. ybreiden

    Good for you! Now, doesn’t that feel great?

  2. I moved my office upstairs. It’s been an odd feeling all day. In the process, I didn’t lessen the load of “stuff” nearly as much as I thought I would. I like the every 6 months rule applied to my office.

    Happy New Year!

  3. Oh, you are motivating me! I need to go through stuff too. This might be a good day. Thanks.

  4. Pingback: The Spending Diet | Notes From a Country Girl Living in the City

  5. Pingback: Progress Report | Notes From a Country Girl Living in the City

  6. Kimberely Stern

    I was very pleased to encounter this web-site. I wished to thank you for your time for this marvelous read!! I definitely enjoyed every little bit of it and I have you bookmarked to check out new stuff your site.

Leave a Reply

