#39 ~ Bake Something Every Week: Homemade Pumpkin Pie

Homemade Pumpkin Pie

Adam loves pumpkin pie.  I myself prefer apple, but I am a good wife so I baked pumpkin.  I wanted this recipe to be Dark Days friendly, so even though I have canned pumpkin and  canned sweetened condensed milk, I used pumpkin from the freezer and local cream instead.

Crust:

  • 1 1/4 cup flour
  • 1/3 cup butter
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 3-4 Tablespoons vodka*

Combine flour, salt and butter in mixer.  Blend ’til crumbly.  Add chilled vodka* 1 T. at a time until mixture comes together in a ball.  Roll crust out on floured counter and place in pie plate.

Filling:

  • 2 cups pumpkin puree
  • 1 1/2 cups Shetler’s heavy cream
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar (I used 1/2 cup granualted plus a T. Michigan molasses)
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1/2 t. salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 t. cinnamon
  • 1 t. ground ginger
  • 1/2 t. ground nutmeg

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

Whisk together all ingredients until smooth. 
Pour into prepared pie crust. 
Bake at 425 for 15 minutes.
Turn oven down to 350. 
Bake at 350 for 45 minutes.

Let pie rest for at least 2 hours before serving.

Mmm. Breakfast.

The pie baked up really nicely.  It stayed light and wasn’t too shallow for my deep pie pan.  The slices kept their shape and everyone seems to like it.  Bubba commented that it was too sweet so I think I will reduce the sugar next time but it is really delicious.  And no, you can’t taste the vodka in the crust.

* I used Stolichnaya Vodka.  No, it isn’t local.  Yes, we have a local distillery.  Someday I will try our local vodka, but I am loyal to Stoli.

1 Comment

Filed under 101 in 1001, Dark Days

One response to “#39 ~ Bake Something Every Week: Homemade Pumpkin Pie

  1. Pingback: #61 (25 Pounds in 101 Days: The Final Chapter) | Notes From a Country Girl Living in the City

Leave a Reply

