February Spice Rack Challenge: Clementine Teriyaki

 

I have to give full credit for this recipe to my hubby, Mr. Hippie.  He has been experimenting with teriyaki sauces for a while.  One day shortly after I saw the spice featured this month was citrus he mentioned making teriyaki again.  I decided that citrus would be the perfect addition to teryiaki.  I was right. 

This recipe is so delicious and so simple that anyone can (and should) try it.

Clementine Teriyaki

  • 1 T. minced onion 1 T. minced onion
  • 1 T. olive oil
  • 1 C. soy sauce  1 C. soy sauce
  • 1/4 – 1/2 C. Champion Hill Farm honey  Champion Hill Farm honey
  • zest of one clementine

    clementine zest

    This is actually the zest of two clementines; I dried and reserved half for later.

Caramelize onion in olive oil in small sauce pan. 
Add 1 cup soy and reduce heat. 
Stir in honey 1 tablespoon at a time tasting for sweetness after each tablespoon.  Stir until dissolved. 
Add zest of one clementine. 
Turn off heat and let steep until cool.

Marinade Steeping

Marinade Cooling

orange chicken

Clementine Teriyaki

Add about 1/3 of this marinade to chicken, pork or whatever you want to Teriyaki-ize and marinate for several hours or overnight.  Reserve remaining sauce in freezer for future use.
Remove meat from sauce and sear on all sides.  Add marinade to pan and simmer until cooked through.  Serve with rice and vegetables (or whatever else you have on hand).  I actually served it with ramen noodles and mixed vegetables.

7 Comments

Filed under food

7 responses to “February Spice Rack Challenge: Clementine Teriyaki

  1. This sounds great. I made a similar recipe a while back using marmalade. I love the soy citrus flavor.

  2. This recipe sounds delicious – I am going to make it. :D

  3. Sounds very good and my whole family loves teriyaki

  4. I have never made Teriyaki and now that I think about I am not even sure if I have ever eaten terihaki?! This looks so good and now I am wonder how and why I have never ventured into teriyaki land. this is getting added to next weeks menu!!!

  5. maryse leboeuf

    sounds yummy!!! soy/citrus is a great combination! I’ll make it for sure. Thanks !

  6. Pingback: Teriyaki Beef Noodles – Video Recipe « The Cooking Channel

Leave a Reply

