Dark Days Challenge

As if I’m not far enough behind in my posts and I don’t have enough other stuff to do (school, work, kids, gardening, cooking, cleaning, chickens, dog . . .), I stumbled upon the “3rd Annual Dark Days Challenge” at the (not so) Urban Hennery.  Eating local is sometimes difficult, but in the winter it can be nearly impossible.  Despite the obvious difficulties I face in my northern climate, I think I can make a successful go of it.  I’ve been putting up jams, jellies, pickles and sauces so I have a good base of ingredients to work with. 

Mmmmmm.  But, still not enough for the winter.

Mmmmmm. But, still not enough for the winter.

 Plus, there are a number of vendors that sell local meat, some farmers I’ve made connections with, and the Farmers’ Market is moving to an indoor venue for the winter which is new (and wonderful).  If nothing else, it’ll guarantee that I try to eat better this winter AND get in a post every week!  Besides, it doesn’t start ’til November so I have plenty of time to think about the delicious meals I’m going to make now.

Home made tomato sauce.

Home made tomato sauce.

2 Comments

Filed under canning

2 responses to “Dark Days Challenge

  1. Got your site from Traverse City Urban Chickens, I am his squawk-in-law! October had enough ‘dark days’, but thank goodness November made up for it! Your canned goods look great, and I am jealous as my garden did really bad this year, maybe my spot doesn’t get enough sun. I would like to suggest a book you can buy locally, if you haven’t already read it: “Animal, Vegetable, Miracle”. It is about a family of four determined to eat locally for one year, and how they did it. Thanks for sharing!

    • aastricker

      I have read “Animal, Vegetable, Miracle” and I love it. It was a very influential part of my journey from junk food to slow food. I loaned it to a friend who also loves it, but I plan to read it again next summer. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

