Can Jam

 

Mmmmmm. But, still not enough for the winter.

This week, while visiting Mother’s Kitchen, I discovered the Can Jam.   And, I’ve decided that since I’m still not busy enough with the kids and work and the chickens and running and blogging and Dark Days and the Family Wisdom Conference (More on that later. . . ), I should probably join another blog challenge. I stumbled upon the challenge after the official cut-off date, but decided I would play along anyway because of my newfound love of canning.  Since the first month’s challenge hadn’t been posted yet, Tigress was nice enough to make me official!

The challenge is simple.  Each month an ingredient will be posted at Tigress in a Jam. (Think “Iron Chef” revealing the secret ingredient.)  Once the ingredient has been posted, each of the bloggers participating has three weeks to come up with a creation utilizing the ingredient and post details of their canned goods.  The hope is that the canned goods will utilize local, in-season produce.  Here in Michigan, there isn’t much local or in season right now but as we move into spring and summer, I hope to take advantage of all the great local produce in our area, and even grow some of my own. 

This month’s ingredient is citrus.  I think I’m going to make a marmalade.  I haven’t tried that yet, so we’ll see how it goes.  I’m considering a lemon marmalade, but if I can find blood oranges, preferably organic, I think they would make a stunning marmalade.  The post will go up next week, so check back to see what I end up with.  Who knows, it could be a disaster, but I’m comitted so even if it is a total flop, it’ll be here for all the world to see.

5 Comments

Filed under canning, food

5 responses to “Can Jam

  1. oh my! you are lazy aren’t you? 😉
    glad you made it in time, and i look forward to seeing what you come up with for the first challenge!

  2. Ha! I know what you mean, why did I sign up for the can jam thing again? Not like I have enough to do, with the Dark Days Challenge, Daring Bakers and Daring Cooks. Oh and the cookbook I’m trying to cook all the recipes from and writing an ebook. I’ve never made marmalade either so maybe we’ll have a disaster together!

  3. Angie

    You could always try to make some lemon curd ~ that’s yummy!

  4. Angie

    Here’s the link I found that shows it can be safely canned for enjoyment later> 🙂
    http://www.uga.edu/nchfp/publications/nchfp/factsheets/lemon_curd.pdf

Leave a Reply

