28 Day Challenge

If you’ve ever been to my house, you know houskeeping is not my strong point.   If you haven’t been to my house, it’s probably because I am too embarrased to let you in!  My house is small and has very little storage.  The clutter factor is a big problem and makes cleaning difficult.  That old saying, “A place for everything and everything in its place.”  doesn’t work when you don’t have enough places for all your stuff.  I have been purging things to try and make space and get more organized, (and I have the Goodwill receipts to prove it) but I just can’t seem to get the clutter under control.  So, when I found the 28 Day Challenge I decided to sign on. 

Workout Room?

The dumping grounds for everyone's junk.

Most of the house could use a decluttering, but I decided the front room which has turned into a dumping ground for everyone’s homeless belongings was the place to start.  It is a good-sized room, but it doesn’t have a real purpose.  It houses a computer desk, a dog kennel, a treadmill and hubby’s work clothes when they’re drying between shifts.  Because it isn’t really used for anything, it’s easy to ignore the clutter that builds there.  I’m tired of the clutter that has collected, but there are two real reasons I chose the “computer room”  for the challenge.  One, because it has actually been remodelled and decorated unlike most of the house, and because since Christmastime we have been discussing the idea of a family room.  I’d like to give the room some purpose and make it a place where the kids (and the rest of us) could hang out and enjoy ourselves.  I’m tired of avoiding my own house! 

Check back soon to see my progress.

6 Comments

Filed under green cleaning, Miscellaneous

6 responses to “28 Day Challenge

  1. Angela, I see so much potential in your room and the color looks great! Good luck with your challenge!

  2. The first two sentences sums up my house to a “T”. 😀 My front room is the same way too. It has the computer, because the computer/craft room upstairs doesn’t have networking ran to it yet, a treadmill, a big IKEA bookshelf and misc couches that don’t really have a home yet. It doesn’t have a purpose per se, but it’s one of the most used rooms, so things just build up. I just don’t know what to do with it! LOL

    I do love that purple color though! Reminds me of Ralph Lauren’s ‘Graphite’ color. I just painted my kitchen green. 😀 If my webhost would comply with my wishes, I’d publish the post about it.

    • aastricker

      I’m hopeful! I think with a little time the room can be useful, even enjoyed. I opposed the purple at first (I wanted sage green) but hubby persisted. I am really pleased with the way it turned out, but we haven’t done anything with it since we finished the drywall and paint. If I can find them, I should post the ‘before’ pics. Maybe when I post the after pics I can do a post on the evolution of the room.

  3. Yenta Mary

    Oh, I feel so at home! I can’t even say it’s MY stuff — I have my son’s stuff, and my ex-husband’s stuff, and stuff my parents keep dumping on me even after I tell them I don’t want it, and a chair my boyfriend thought would be perfect here, and … sigh. And then it all clones itself and mutates and oozes into any open space when I’m not looking. I have a small sign in my kitchen that says “Our house is clean enough to be healthy but dirty enough to be happy!”

  4. Pingback: Dark Days Week 15~Better Than Burger King « Notes From a Country Girl Living in the City

  5. Pingback: Have I mentioned I Love Random?? « Notes From a Country Girl Living in the City

Leave a Reply

