Greasy Bar Food (Dark Days in Disguise)

Lest you think sustainably-grown, organic, local food must be good for you, I have concocted some bad-for-you food out of my delicious, healthy ingredients.  I almost made a salad, but didn’t want to ruin the ‘greasy bar food’ vibe my dinner had goin’ on so I opted for dessert instead. 

I started with two dozen chicken wings from Olds Farm.  I threw them in a saucepan and added half a jar of home-canned tomato sauce, a big ‘glug’ of molasses, a dried chili from my CSA and a little too much Michigan beet sugar for my taste.  That all simmered away while I julienned a pile of russet potatoes from the 50 lb. bag in my super fancy root cellar. 

Spelt pie crust and homemade  apple pie filling

Homemade pie from locally-grown apples that I canned myself.

I had a ball of  spelt-flour pie crust dough in the freezer so I pulled it out and let it thaw while the chicken cooked.  When the crust had thawed I rolled it out, threw it in a pie pan and dumped two quarts of home-canned apple pie filling in it.  Can anyone say, “Five minute pie”?

When the wings were fully cooked, I dumped them out onto a sheet pan and baked them at 400 until they were a little crisp.  While the chicken was crisping, I cooked batches of fries in hot oil (which was not local 😦 ).

The finished dinner, while not the healthiest meal on Earth, was yummy.  And, my greasy homemade chicken wings and fries were much better for me than restaurant wings from factory-farmed chickens, sauce made of who-knows-what, and pesticide and fungicide laden potatoes cooked in hydrogenated oil.  Plus, leftover pie is an excellent breakfast; fruit and whole grains are good for you!

hot wings and french fries

Homemade bar food; what could be better?

1 Comment

Filed under Dark Days, food

One response to “Greasy Bar Food (Dark Days in Disguise)

  1. Mmmm, pie. It always tastes good… especially with the apples that you prepared yourself to your personal liking. Have you tried making sweet potato fries? I like those as well, it adds a bit of sweetness to the salty, crispy flavor…

Leave a Reply

