#39 ~ Bake Something Every Week: Better than Tollhouse(R) Chocolate Chip Cookies

Not gramma's, but not bad.

Last week I baked sugar cookies.  I don’t remember which recipe I used, but they weren’t spectacular, so not share-worthy.  When I find my Grandmother’s recipe maybe I’ll share. 

I also baked pasties but I haven’t decided if that really counts as baking.  They were also not very spectacular.  I used leftover beef tenderloin, rutabaga, carrot and potato chunks and then sliced in a little cheese for good measure.  Pasties are good because you can individualize them.  Gwen’s pasties were meatless and Dylan’s were potato-less.  Adam doesn’t love rutabaga so I didn’t put as much rutabaga in his.  Since I was pressed for time I used straight-up pie crust instead of croissant dough like I usually do.  If you need a recipe for pasties I have one here.

This week I baked enchiladas from a new recipe, and chocolate chip cookies.  Essentially I use the recipe from the back of the Nestle bag, but I have modified it.  And yes, it actually is better.

Better than Tollhouse Chocolate Chip Cookies

  • 1 cup (2 sticks) real  butter; melted, not just softened, melted

    Melted butter

  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 T. vanilla Yes, a whole Tablespoon.
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 1/4 cup flour
  • 1 t. salt
  • 1 t. baking soda
  • 2 cups chocolate chips

In mixer cream together melted butter and sugars.
Add eggs one at a time mixing after each addition.
Add vanilla.  I probably use more than a tablespoon because I just dump it in.

Melted butter yields a smoother base.

Add salt and soda to flour.  Add slowly to egg mixture and blend until combined. 
Mix in chocolate chips stirring until blended.

Refrigerate for an hour.

Drop by spoonfuls onto ungreased cookie sheet.  Bake 9-11 minutes at 375 degrees.

Breakfast of champions.

Leave a comment

Filed under 101 in 1001, food

Leave a Reply

