Derby. Work. Life. And modifying my 101.

When I started my 101 in 1001, I had every intention of completing the things on the list. For the most part, I still do.

But  sometimes, life throws you a curveball.  Life must think I’m a baseball player, ’cause I’ve been dodging a lot of those things lately. 

It all started in December when Adam was “down-sized” from his job.  As a construction worker, he’s been out of work before and we’ve always managed, but this time the lay-off was permanent.  He looked and looked for jobs but had no luck.  Finally, in April, he went back to North Peak restaurant where he had been a chef years ago to work as a line cook.  Having a job was a relief, but he took a pretty big pay cut so things still weren’t great.  

Right before Adam took the job at North Peak, I took on a second job.  The second job wasn’t difficult, but it was time consuming.  I was working 36 hours a week in addition to my full-time job at school.  I did this for a couple of reasons.  The obvious reason was our general financial situation.  Money was tight.  We were getting by on my income and Adam’s unemployment, but it wasn’t easy.  Bills needed to be paid and the kids needed to eat. 

But, my main motivation to take a second job was personal selfish.   I wanted to play roller derby.  And it isn’t cheap.  Equipment alone can cost hundreds of dollars.  All skaters need to carry league insurance (even if they already carry medical insurance, which I do) and everyone has to pay for a background check (even if the school district they work for already has her fingerprints on file and has run the same check).  Add to the start-up costs the $45 $35 a month dues and the travel expenses for bouts, and you’re looking at a lot of money. So, in order to fund my new addiction, I started spending time with Earl.  Earl is 90+ years old. Earl does not have wi-fi capabilities.  Earl does not even have internet.  Earl has tv land.  Instead of blogging and gardening and cooking and canning, I spent my nights watching All in the Family and Sanford and Son while knitting or #12 writing letters to my grandmothers.

Bellatrix LeStrangle

When I wasn’t at work or Earl’s, I was at Roller Derby Practice three nights a week with the Traverse City Toxic Cherries or at derby events like Toxic Cherry Idol where we picked singers to perform the National Anthem at our home bouts or photo shoots or all-skater meetings. I was out of the house a lot.  Hubby was frustrated, but in the end my hard work paid off.  I passed my skating skills test the first time I tried with a pretty high score.  I passed the written rules test with only one missed question, and I got to skate in three bouts of a tournament in Port Huron, Michigan after being on the team only two months.  I even chose a derby name and created my derby alter-ego: Bellatrix LeStrangle

Add to all the crazy things going on in my life already, a trip to the hospital. Mr. Hippie has ulcerative colitis.  Ordinarily it is managed by medication.  He hasn’t had a flare-up in the over nine years since he was originally diagnosed. For whatever reason, his meds stopped working and he started having problems.  Imagine my surprise when I got a call from Mr. Hippie at the hospital on my lunch hour informing me that he was being admitted to the ER.  Hubby spent 5 days at Munson Medical Center on IV fluids and steroids.  I missed work to spend time with him and be available in case they decided that it was time to release him.  Our whole Memorial Day Weekend was spent in his hospital room. Even though I wasn’t at work, I got even less done than normal.  Mr. Hippie is fine now.  He’s been back to work for a month and has finally been weaned from his steroids, but it threw a monkey wrench into our lives. 

But now, school’s out, everyone’s healthy, and I’m not spending my evenings with Earl.  I still have derby at least three nights a week and I am working a summer job and helping my friend Joan at her farm, but I have a little more free time.  Maybe now I can catch up on my blog posts so that my friend, Stephanie will have something to read besides my old post about coriander.

All the craziness in my life made me realize that maybe some of my 101 in 1001 goals were a little lofty.  Is modifying them cheating?  I’m not sure, but I wrote the list so I can write the rules, right?  Nothing is going to go away, but I’m going to adjust a few things.  I’ll keep you posted.  I promise.

7 Comments

Filed under Miscellaneous

7 responses to “Derby. Work. Life. And modifying my 101.

  1. Nope, I think being flexible is a part of life, and when you get a curve ball, it is ok to change directions and priorities. I had my first child in the middle of my first 1001 days, and if that doesn’t change how you do things, I don’t know what else would count!

  2. Oh, and awesome derby name! I love that you are doing that, we have a group that sometimes comes to our town, but still have to get out to see them!

  3. WHEW! And I think building a house while living in a trailer is chaotic! BTW – love your “stage” name – very H. Potterish. 😀

  4. Busy, busy!!
    I made a shorter list of my own inspired by your list. Then I got offered two part time jobs in the course of a month that I wasn’t really looking for and felt like the universe was maybe hinting that I should work right now. Then a few weeks ago we got an 8 week old puppy. So to make my story short I have been thinking the same thing about many of the items on my list. Some of them are now more easily attainable, some of them no longer apply, some of them are just not possible right now, some of them I have found just aren’t as important in the grand scheme of things as I may have thought and some of them I’ve just sucked at….I think being able to modify and go with the flow of life is an absolute necessity.

  5. Love the Bellatrix! Hope you can food blog again soon. Miss you in spice rack this month.

  6. Ashlea

    I’m not sure exactly what compelled me to click on over here today, but here I am. And how cool are you in your roller derby outfit?! I hope life is going more smoothly and you’re enjoying this beautiful September so far!

  7. Pingback: The Spending Diet | Notes From a Country Girl Living in the City

Leave a Reply

